What is the elixir way of processing long excels/csv files line by line (or any similar large inputs that is itemizable)

Hi there

I am still learning my elixir ways, doing my first real elixir project. It is going to process excels or CSV files of user feedback, analyze them line by line with AI and provide useful summaries on e.g. whether users complain more about performance rather than some functionality.

Coming from JVM world once the file is uploaded I would use something like SpringBatch or Quartz with csv/excel readers able to stream through the file and create records in database (or push to RabbitMQ) in the atomic manner (so if server got rebooted while parsing row 124, job would continue from row 124 when restarted).

And then a similar job for actual analysis would fetch rows (from db or rabbitmq) and again in atomic way would process things row by row.

What is the elixir way of doing it?
I am googling and reading this forum about batch jobs in elixir and it seems like the most mature way that should work out of the box is Oban (the nice controlling dashboard for it is expensive though, but maybe I could live without it).

The part I am missing is this “atomicity” or parsing files and processing already parsed rows.

• Could somebody, please, point me into the direction to research?
  • Or is Oban the wrong framework for it and not really suited for splitting large job into small atomically failing or succeeding items? What would you look at then?
1 Like

Hi @artem!

I think the architecture can be quite similar to the Java one. You can use either NimbleCSV or Explorer packages for parsing CSV. For processing later on, you can use Oban or something like Broadway RabbitMQ.

2 Likes

Wow, that was a fast response, @josevalim !
Maybe I just fail to locate the proper starting pointers :confused: