Why Elixir is warning me about not implemented behavior functions?

Hello everyone,
I am new to Elixir, but I am quite confused. When I define @callback functions the module that is using the behavior is not producing error if that function is not implemented, it is just showing warning. I question would be what is the idea behind showing warning instead of throwing some error, thanks :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I’m also confused about warning (instead of error), especially when we have optional_callbacks
Maybe it happen historically… It would be awesome if error raised

I think a compilation error would be overkill. Behaviours are a way to establish explicit contracts. It’s a best practice, not a prerequisite for compilation.

https://hexdocs.pm/elixir/behaviours.html

If a callback module that implements a given behaviour doesn’t export all the functions and macros defined by that behaviour, the user will be notified through warnings during the compilation process (no errors will happen).

Well, contracts are worth nothing if they are not enforced. I actually find this compromise rather surprising. :107: :017:

2 Likes

I don’t have insight into the why the core team chose that route. You’d have to ask them. I appreciate the flexibility, personally.

I don’t know the rationale, however to turn warning into error yourself you can pass --warnings-as-errors to mix compile, mix test and many other tasks.

3 Likes

Just my guess - not an official explanation.

I think the warning makes sense in the context of Elixir (or Erlang) being dynamically typed. If Elixir (and Erlang) was statically typed then an error would make sense.