Phauxth vs Coherence

I was hoping to discuss the merits between the two libraries. I’ve been comparing them for a greenfield project and as someone new to Elixir and Phoenix, I am struggling to see any major difference between them.

Things I see they share in common:

• Both appear to be primarily front-end (not API) based - more for web apps versus API serving apps.
  • Both appear to be somewhat opinionated on context design.
  • Both have installers and seem straightforward to implement.
  • Both have both Authentication and Authorization built in.

Differences:

• Phauxth seems to be more actively developed? Perhaps it is because it is because Phauth is newer or because the lead dev for Coherence is just tied up, but Coherence has had a security flaw open since August on github, whereas Phauxth seems to be regularly worked on by its maintainer.
  • Phauxth is significantly less popular than Coherence.

But I don’t know. As stated, I’m still a pretty darn Jr dev. I’m curious to get opinions from the community? I’m certainly not trying to pit them against each other - I appreciate any and all work done within this community as well as the OSS community in general! I’m just hoping to get someone to explain the differences so I or anyone else who sees this can choose the best option for their specific needs.

Thanks all! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

(I deliberately kept Guardian/Uberauth out of the discussion because they really are in their own category - more of a “batteries not included” sorts of packages. Not an issue with that, just not something I am interested in at this point.)

Phauxth does not include authorization. It just gives examples on how to implement in it on top of phoenix and phauxth in userland.

2 Likes

As I recall coherence has only authentication, not authorization.