Ecto schemas in a project that is depended upon by multiple projects

I have a situation at work where two distinct Phoenix projects, A and B, duplicate the same schemas, since they truck in the same db tables. This is painful, since migrations must be done twice. My instinct is to make a sort of library project, C, which A and B would call as file dependencies. All the schemas would reside there. I understand that this might not be conventional, or that it would also be possible to merge the A and B into one (much) larger project, but I’m wondering if this dependency model is even possible. If so, what would you call out as drawbacks? What would you call out as benefits? I should say that I’m a rank beginner. Please simplify.

1 Like

I did exactly this and it does work.

But there is a BIG gotcha you have look out for. If you create a database repo in project C (which you probably will for testing and development), when you include project C in your dependencies for A or B its going to automatically try to connect with the database when you run A or B. (I don’t 100% know why, but it does.) I didn’t realize this and had setup a separate connection with the database in my “project A”. And I kept getting an error about a missing socket (even though I was using tcp) – it was Project C’s repo trying to talk to the database but hadn’t been fully configured.

The solution was to utilize the repo from project C and not try to recreate it in A or B. There is probably a way to do otherwise but this worked for me. FYI you still have to config C’s repo in project A (and B). I also added it to A’s (or B’s) supervision tree (though maybe that wasn’t necessary?)

1 Like

Thanks for this detailed answer, especially for the warning about the DB repo in C. A few other things:

1. When you wrote migrations for the underlying table(s), the work was isolated to C, right? IOW, schemas only needed to be changed in C, the migration only run within C.