What is the idiomatic way for input validations?

I’m new to elixir and functional programming, in general. I want to ask what’s the idiomatic way to validate our input parameters? Say I want to do this in my UserController.create.

Check if password is valid by PasswordManager.valid?/1
If not, render error
else, continue

This is what I’ve come up with:

defmodule MyApp.UserController do
  def create(conn, %{"data" => data}) do
    case PasswordManager.valid? user_attrs["password"] do
      {:ok, raw_password} ->
        # make changeset with hashed password
        case Repo.insert(changeset) do
          {:ok, user} ->
            # success
          {:error, invalid_changeset} ->
            # render failure  
      {:error, reason} ->
        render(conn, :errors, data: reason)
    end
  end
end

The issue here is the “ugly” nesting seems unnecessary. I’m looking for a “return early” statements but I guess elixir wants us to write pure functions as much as possible and utilize pattern matching accordingly. How do I refactor this?

Coming from python, I would do this:

def create(user_attrs):
  if not PasswordManager.is_valid(user_attrs['password']):
    # display error
    return

# continue

But what’s the best practice in elixir?

Feel free to do some nitpicks to my code so I can improve writing in this language.

Also, please do note that I’m asking this as a generic question. I hope you don’t dwell too much with the password validation as an example. Thank you.

1 Like

Hello @nmcalabroso,

in Elixir and other functional languages, you cannot »return early« as you would do in Python or Ruby.
In your particular case, you could use the with keyword in order to avoid nesting and chain pattern-matched conditions together:

with {:ok, raw_password} <- PasswordManager.valid?(user_attrs["password"]),
     {:ok, changeset} <- create_changeset(user_attrs, raw_password),
     {:ok, user} <- Repo.insert(changeset) do