Liveview + PubSub messages delay?

Hello there,

I have a Liveview that subscribes to a Pubsub topic and starts a Genserver when I click in a button.

The Genserver sends a message back to the Liveview using the Pubsub, those messages seems to only be processed after the map ends:

If I increase the data, from 1000 to 10000000, I see that some of messages being received before:

Is there a way to receive those message before?

I have created a repository to reproduce: GitHub - rafaeliga/liveview_pubsub_update: Sample project to test Liveview + Pubsub.

The processes are running concurrently and there isn’t really a way to force the subscriber to process a message before the publisher can continue in a PubSub, I think. Looks like the sending is faster than receiving in this case (or the messages go slower through the PubSub system).

Anyway, why do you want the receiving to occur before? Is it leading to a time delay?

I think something like GenStage/Flow could provide backpressure, leading to blocking of the producer before consumers have had time to consume the items.

it’s not that sending it’s faster. what happens is that publishing the message won’t stop a process of running its reductions.

on your solution, what you want to be synchronous and what you want to be asynchronous?
The idea is to design the system to solve the thing the way you need. PubSub is a asynchronous solution.

My use case is showing a CSV import / insert data in database in real time.

What your example shows is that a) it is extremely quick to map through a list when you do no work in the map function and b) pubsub works. You can probably move on to the next stage.

You could delay processing the next chunk until after the message is received by calling the liveview instead of broadcasting, but I don’t imagine you want to do that in practice.

Sorry if my initial post isnt clear enough, let me try with more data: